http://www.appliedmaterials.com

Applied Materials

Electrical Engineering Intern

June - September 2021 • Austin, TX

What I liked

I had the freedom to work on projects I found interesting.

What I wish was different

A bit more guidance and structure at the beginning.

Advice

Be the first to mark this as helpful

Optical Engineering Intern

June - December 2020 • Santa Clara, CA

What I liked

Full of extremely intelligent and innovative people! I felt so welcomed and learned so much here.

What I wish was different

Advice

Don't be afraid to ask questions and seek help if you need it.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Industrial Engineer Intern

May - August 2019 • Santa Clara, CA

What I liked

Great onboarding experience. Several other interns to interact with both in the workplace and in organized social activities (volunteering, bowling, etc.). Exciting and novel to work in the cleanroom environment.

What I wish was different

I wish it was a more hands-on experience. Although industrial engineering is definitely more logistical and management-based.

Advice

Don't be afraid to ask questions and show your curiosity! Your opinions are definitely valuable and sometimes things no one else has thought of, so speak up! If the internship isn't exactly what you were hoping for, try to speak to your manager to reevaluate your tasks so that you can get more out of your experience.
3 people found this helpful

Mechanical Engineering Intern

June - September 2019 • Santa Clara, CA

What I liked

It was a great experience for learning how the industry works. Applied is a big company and knows what they're doing.

What I wish was different

I wish I had a closer team to work with, it was a lot of alone work in a cubicle.

Advice

Definitely ask questions when you need to, I asked a bunch and still felt lost at times.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Process Engineer

July 2016 • Sunnyvale, CA

What I liked

I liked my current job which is challenging and have helped me to develop and improve my skill sets.

What I wish was different

I don’t wish anything to be different right now.

Advice

3 people found this helpful

Data Analyst Intern

May - August 2018 • Sunnyvale, CA

What I liked

I got to personally own a lot of projects with my hiring manager

What I wish was different

Company culture is a little old-school with not much diversity

Advice

1 person found this helpful

Business Intern

May - July 2018 • Santa Clara, CA

What I liked

Rotational nature of program Structured and formal internship program Intern events

What I wish was different

Advice

Be the first to mark this as helpful

Software Engineer

May - August 2018 • Santa Clara, CA

What I liked

Tight community with a lot of interns. A lot of outings with interns as well as learning from different disciplines.

What I wish was different

Wish I had been assigned onto a data science team instead of the systems software team.

Advice

Internships are a great opportunity to make friends and expand your network. Go around the office during off-time and talk to everyone.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Mechanical Engineer

June 2018 • Gloucester, MA

What I liked

Excellent rotation program withing a high tech company.

What I wish was different

nothing

Advice

when applying to a job engineers should attempt to portray a project they worked on where they designed, analysed, built, tested and iterated. This is what a lot of places look for.
9 people found this helpful

Engineering Technician Intern

May 2018 • Hillsboro, OR

What I liked

Working in both a manufacturing and a research and development setting, as a college student pursuing a degree in mechanical engineering, I first-hand was witness to the aspects of engineering outside of the textbooks and classroom. Whether it was professionalism, work ethic, internal and corporate communication, or logistics, interning for this company was truly an eye opener in the daily life of an engineer that one does not learn about in the classroom. The employees I worked with were very supportive and encouraging, always willing to teach me something new, whether it was theory, engineering, or any life advice. I highly encourage taking up opportunities such as this one for they provide valuable lessons and insight on the career we will be taking up after we graduate with our degrees.

What I wish was different

Advice

Be the first to mark this as helpful

R&D Process Engineering Intern

May - August 2018 • Gloucester, MA

What I liked

Fascinating, innovative, challenging, and impactful projects. A mentor that was willing to help me and push me in a good way. Still in touch today.

What I wish was different

I wish I started earlier and was able to get there quicker (long commute) that way I could've been even more efficient and gotten more from it.

Advice

Take advantage of the opportunity. I worked with other interns that had a good experience but didn't get the most out of it. I was able to network with R&D directors, present to the CTO and provide meaningful research to the company.
3 people found this helpful

Software Engineering Intern

May - August 2018 • Santa Clara, CA

What I liked

The opportunity to learn from and work with experts in systems integration to discover the roll of software in assisting and empowering engineers and technicians in a diverse array of disciplines.

What I wish was different

I wish there were interns working on the same project as I. I feel that it may have eased my introduction into the internship to have had other fresh interns working alongside me that I could relate to and share the "new hire" experience with.

Advice

Don't be afraid to voice opinions and express creativity in the projects. It took me a month to grow comfortable with voicing opinions with the awareness that due to my lack of experience I may be making unrealistic of infeasible suggestions; however through the practice of sharing my ideas and having some refuted, I gained a much better understanding of the industry ecosystem.
1 person found this helpful

Pharma Engineering Sales Intern

May - August 2018 • Santa Clara, CA

What I liked

The work, the environment, intern immersion experience, company culture, benefits.

What I wish was different

I wish I had more contact with my team.

Advice

Take advantage of every single experience the company offers for interns - the benefits are insane. 401K matching, buying stocks at discounted prices, overtime pay, paid time off, trips to San Francisco, going to tech conferences etc (all paid for!)
4 people found this helpful

Process Engineering Intern

June - September 2018 • Sunnyvale, CA

What I liked

Exciting work. Fun environment. Opportunity for independence.

What I wish was different

More organized intern program, more intern events.

Advice

1 person found this helpful